The Great What?

yjrr4

“‘So this guy,’ I said, standing in the doorway of the living room. ‘Francis Rabelais. He was this poet. And his last words were ‘I go to seek a Great Perhaps.’ That’s why I’m going. So I don’t have to wait until I die to start seeking a Great Perhaps.’” -Look For Alaska, John Green

This is where the idea stems from. The beginning of one summer, my friend Chantelle told me about this book, Looking For Alaska by John Green and I read it to see what the big deal was and then I read it again because I hadn’t read anything like it since The Perks of Being a Wallflower (which I’m sure I’ll talk about sometime in the future).  And I’m not going to say something mushy like once I read this book everything began to make sense and the clouds parted and the stars seem to mean something again and food suddenly tastes better because that’s bullshit. The Great Perhaps is the pursuit of everything we aspire to achieve in ourselves, it’s the idea of a goal, it’s the idea that we are here for a reason and are supposed to do something with our lives beyond what we think we’re supposed to do, or how we should act.

As much as we refuse to believe it, we are alone for the better portion of our lives–this isn’t to say that that’s a bad thing either, nor was it said to give you the image of a lonely person–it’s just that we spend the better portions of our lives buried in thought. We take in our world and then try to make something out of it, try to find out what we’re supposed to do or who we’re supposed to be and some of us get caught up in the current and end up flowing downstream, others spend their lives fighting the current, and others, still, find themselves standing at the bank of the river unsure of how to jump in.

Now I can’t tell you how to approach the Great Perhaps, nor can I encourage you to pursue one; but the great thing about the Great Perhaps is that it’s pursuit is not a choice we make–we’re on one, regardless of how we approach it–it’s already a part of who we are, and I’m encouraging you to pursue yours. Whether it be sailing across the ocean, travelling to Australia, studying for the MTELs, or planning to do any and all in between, the pursuit of our Great Perhaps allows us to catch a glimpse of ourselves amidst the hustle of our daily lives. It’s the mirror that we hold up to our current image which forces us to keep going.

In pursuit of my Great Perhaps, I’ve created this blog to share my work with friends, family, colleagues, and the occasional onlooker. I encourage you to ask questions, I encourage you to take your own course. I encourage you to be the best version of yourselves in this moment and to never regret anything. Each and every event that you’ve lived through up until this point has made you into the person you are in this moment, and has therefore had more influence on your life than you are currently prepared to realize or accept. We have to own our experiences and accept our past without letting it define us. We came, we saw, we’ve overcome, we live on.

“So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

This entry was posted in All Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

